AlburyCity Short Story Award

AlburyCity Short Story Award

Jock Serong Judge 2021

Jock Serong



Word limit


Entry fee


Prize amount

First prize $1000; 2nd prize $200 Dymocks book voucher; 3rd prize $100 Dymocks book voucher

Closing date


graphical divider

Announcing the 2021 Award Winners

Our short story judge, Jock Serong announces our award winners.

As Jock notes in his announcement, every single story on the shortlist was masterfully crafted and his decision was in no way an easy one. You can listen to his reflections on the shortlist and judging process in the recording above.

We are thrilled to congratulate Rebecca Howden, Vivien MacJohn and Josh Donellan on their success. And a big congratulations of course to everyone whose story made the shortlist. Well done! Read Rebecca and Vivien's stories by clicking on the titles below.

Announcing the 2021 Shortlist

  • The Language of Grace by Jane Turner Goldsmith, Belair SA
  • THIRD PLACE - Ava by Josh Donellan, Brisbane QLD
  • Prison Bells and Jasmine by Kitty Owens, Coburg North VIC
  • Ignorant Armies by Paulette Gittins, South Yarra VIC
  • Heat by Margo Daly, East Fremantle WA
  • The Consultant by Sean Crawley, Long Jetty NSW
  • Jupiter by Ruth Bell, Newtown NSW
  • FIRST PLACE - Mine by Rebecca Howden, Kensington VIC
  • Even the Silence by Keren Heenan, Montmorency VIC
  • Judgement by Kevin Brophy, Brunswick VIC
  • Cabin by Jennie Keenan, Burrumbuttock NSW
  • Postcards by Leonie Orton, Rosemount QLD
  • Rest Periods by Ellen Rodger, Newtown NSW
  • SECOND PLACE - Mikey by Vivien MacJohn, Forest Lodge NSW
  • Trove Hunter by Roger Vickery, Freshwater NSW

Share this article:
divider graphic

Related pages

Past winners

Previous winners, placegetters, commended and highly commended entrants of our WAM competitions.

Read the Story
Tuesday 02 June 2020

What do our judges look for in a short story?

Kate Rotherham and Lucy Treloar shared some great insights, resources and suggestions for developing the art of short story writing when they sat down in conversation on Thursday 28 May.

Read the Story
Thursday 10 September 2020

Announcing the 2020 AlburyCity Short Story Award winners!

Congratulations to the writers of the twelve stories that made the shortlist. Well done! And a special congratulations of course goes to Rob Johnson, Claire Aman and Ellen Rodger.

Read the Story

Get festival updates direct to your inbox

We’ll never share your details with third parties.
View our Privacy Policy for more info.
arrow-up icon